Louisa M. Alcott
Eight Cousins
Good Wives
Little Women
An Old Fashioned Girl
Louisa May Alcott, daughter of Amos Bronson Alcott, one of Emerson's circle of friends, was born in Philadelphia in 1832. Educated mainly by H. D. Thoreau and her father, Miss Alcott served as a hospital nurse during the Civil War. Her first book, Flower Fables, appeared in 1854, and her next work, Hospital Sketches (1863), consisted of her letters home from the Union Hospital during the war. She first gained a wide reputation with Little Women (1868-69), and her best subsequent work was done in the same field. Her chief publications after Little Women are the following: An Old-Fashioned Girl (1870), Little Men (1871), Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag (1871-79), Work (1873), Silver Pitchers (1876), Rose in Bloom (1876), Jo's Boys (1886), and A Garland for Girls (1887). Good Wives is the second part of Little Women. Miss Alcott died in 1888.
Alcott Web.com Summary of information on Louisa May Alcott. Contains excerpts from letters and journals, a picture gallery and various links
Internet School Library Media Center Includes links to all the information about Louisa Alcott on the net.
Empirezine Spotlight A detailed biography of the famous author
Detailed information on Louisa Alcott Biographical information, features her homes, her family, her writing career and her adult life
Womenwriters.net A moderated E-journal devoted to women writers beginning in the 19th century, who wrote "domestic fiction"
The Louisa May Alcott WebRing Many links to other resources on Louisa Alcott

  By PanEris using Melati.

  Back Home Email this Search Discuss Bookmark  
Copyright: All texts on Bibliomania are © Bibliomania.com Ltd, and may not be reproduced in any form without our written permission. See our FAQ for more details.